Penywern Ponds

Discover Penywern Ponds

Penywern, built in 1839, was initially the main barracks for soldiers stationed to keep the peace in Merthyr Tydfil after the 1831 Merthyr Rising. It was owned by the Dowlais Iron Company which used the reservoirs and ponds to feed water to the Dowlais Works.

There is an upper and lower pond situated on either side of the A465 Heads of the Valleys road, west of the ASDA store. Anglers can find bream, roach, tench, perch, barbel and carp.

What’s happening in Merthyr Tydfil

Latest News

Coming Soon: National Eisteddfod - Right on our doorstep in Rhondda Cynon Taf

Coming Soon: National Eisteddfod - Right on our doorstep in Rhondda Cynon Taf


New Exhibition "Art Attack" Arrives at Cynon Valley Museum

New Exhibition "Art Attack" Arrives at Cynon Valley Museum


Exciting Events Programme Unveiled for Merthyr Tydfil in 2024

Exciting Events Programme Unveiled for Merthyr Tydfil in 2024


© Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council 2024